National Sunflower Association - link home
About NSA Join NSA Contact Us Facebook YouTube
All About Sunflower


Frequently Asked Questions

Sunflower Sustainability

NSA Gold Award

2015 ~ Jim Krogh

2014 ~ Dr. Gary Fick

2013 ~ John McLean

2012 ~ Larry Kleingartner

2009 ~ Duane Berglund

2007 ~ Jerry Miller

2006 ~ Leon Wrage

2005 ~ Curt Stern

2003 ~ Edward J. Campbell

2001 ~ R. A. True

1999 ~ Duane Sondeland

1998 ~ Floyd Anderson

1997 ~ Kenneth Topp

1996 ~ Milt Lakness

1995 ~ Senator Mark Andrews

1994 ~ Dr. Robert Robinson

1993 ~ Dean McBride

1992 ~ Ralph Taylor

1991 ~ Bob Schuler

1990 ~ Marv Klevberg

1989 ~ Chuck Moses

Ornamental Sunflower Information Sources

Bird Feeding

Coloring Book

Video Blog


Health & Nutrition

Sunflower Seed and Kernel

Sunflower Oil


Calendar of Events

Media Center

Photo Gallery

Sunflower Statistics

International Marketing


Meal/Wholeseed Feeding

Sunflower Magazine



Daily Market News
Sign Up for Newsletter
Online Catalog
Online Directory
Google Search
Printer Friendly Version
You Are Here All About Sunflower > NSA Gold Award > 2009 ~ Duane Berglund

2009 ~ Duane Berglund

Duane Berglund
Dr. Duane Berglund and sunflower came to the heart of the production region at the same time in the late 1970s. Duane was a new Ph.D. in agronomy and sunflower was a new crop in the Dakotas and Minnesota. As a row crop Extension agronomist, Duane gave countless seminars to hundreds of growers on the basics of sunflower production. As growers matured in their knowledge of sunflower so did Dr. Berglund's presentations. He is the editor of the well known NDSU publication Bulletin #24 titled ‘Sunflower Production.' The publication has been known among producers as ‘the sunflower bible.' Duane has coordinated the annual NSA sunflower survey for many years. He retired from NDSU in 2006.

Top of the Page

copyright ©2016 National Sunflower Association